Two wine-making brothers.

Alexandre & Frédéric Chaudière are from a family that has produced generations of wine-makers at the Château Pesquié in the Ventoux, South of the Rhone Valley. In 2005, when they created the Paradou range, they decided to give themselves a new challenge. These two thirty or so year old brothers have always shared a passion for wine. Since he was a mere boy, Alexandre has been certain that he would become a wine-maker and he studied viticulture and oenology at Mâcon and worked in many of the world’s wine-making regions (Bourgogne, Rheingau, Châteauneuf-du-Pape, Australia, Côte-Rôtie, etc.) to build a solid experience as a wine-maker.

After Bachelors’ degrees in Philosophy and in History from the Sorbonne and a Masters’ degree from Sciences Po Paris, Frédéric brings a slightly different outlook to wine-making as well as his marketing competence. The project started in the Luberon, but over time the Chaudière brothers decided to avoid the rigours of the AOP to be completely free to create fresh and sexy wines.

An old mill in the South of France.

In Provençal, which is the language of the Oc country, Paradou means the “fulling mill”. The word comes from the latin « parare » which means to « prepare ». The Paradou belongs to the Chaudiere family and is the Guest House of Château Pesquié. It is an old mill that was built from the 12th to the 13th centuries on the banks of the Auzon river. It belonged to Guilhem de Pascalis, knight of the order of the Holy Cross and is part of a group of four mills situated between the village of Mormoiron and the village of Mazan.

Over time, the mill was integrated into a large Provençal Mas (house) which was situated along a Roman road. The Paradou was initially built for the preparation of wool and cloth using the fuller’s earth that surrounds the property. This was a very lucrative industry for the community because the raw materials were available on site. Later, the mill was used to produce olive oil and is still surrounded by vines and olive trees today.

Deux frères vignerons.

Vignerons de pères en fils au Château Pesquié, dans le Ventoux au sud de la Vallée du Rhône, Alexandre & Frédéric Chaudière ont décidé de se fixer un nouveau défi en créant la gamme Paradou en 2005. Ces deux frères trentenaires ont toujours été animés par la passion commune du vin. Alexandre a depuis son plus jeune âge la certitude de sa vocation de vigneron et a étudié la viticulture et l’œnologie à Mâcon et travaillé dans de nombreuses régions du monde (Bourgogne, Rheingau, Châteauneuf-du-Pape, Australie, Côte-Rôtie, etc...) afin de se forger une solide expérience de vinificateur.

Frédéric, après une Licence de philosophie et une Maîtrise d’histoire à la Sorbonne puis un Master à Sciences Po Paris, apporte un regard décalé et sa compétence en marketing. Le projet avait commencé dans le Luberon, mais progressivement les frères Chaudière ont décidé de fuir les contraintes de l’AOP, afin de pouvoir avoir toute la liberté qu’ils souhaitaient pour créer des vins de fraîcheur et de plaisir.

Un vieux moulin dans le sud de la France.

En Provençal, autrement dit dans la langue d’oc, Paradou signifie « moulin à foulons ». Le mot vient du verbe latin «parare » qui signifie « préparer ». Le Paradou appartient à la Famille Chaudière et est la chambre d’hôte du Château Pesquié. C’est un vieux moulin qui a été construit entre le XIIème et le XIIIème siècle, sur les berges de la rivière Auzon. Il appartenait à Guilhem de Pascalis, chevalier de l’ordre de Sainte-Croix et fait partie d’un groupe de quatre moulins situés entre le village de Mormoiron et le village de Mazan.

Le moulin s’est progressivement incorporé à un vaste Mas Provençal lui-même situé le long d’une voie Romaine. A l’origine, le Paradou était destiné à la préparation de laine et de tissus en utilisant la terre à foulon qui entoure la propriété. C’était une industrie très prospère pour la communauté par la présence sur place de la matière première. Plus tard, il se consacrera à la production d’huile d’olive et est aujourd’hui encore entouré de vignes et d’oliviers.