Soils made for fresh wines

The Paradou vineyards are all slightly elevated on rather poor soils in order to obtain the freshest and most drinkable wines possible by avoiding being South-facing. In the case of the Viognier, the vineyard is situated North-East of Montpellier, between Nîmes et Uzès, at the foot of the Massif des Cévennes, on fairly poor chalky lime-stones soils (essentially folded Jurassic rocks) at an average altitude of 150 to 200 m which gives a slight mineral taste to the wine.

In the case of the Grenache however, most of the vineyard is situated much further West, North of Narbonne, in the Minervois, at an average altitude of 250 m on richer lime-stones and clay soils (pebbly terraces which were deposited during the substantial floods of the Quaternary Period) which makes for powerfully structured but very balanced wines.

Mediterranean climate and sustainable agriculture

The vineyard plots of the Paradou receive an exceptional amount of sunshine because of their situation in the Languedoc region which is characterised throughout by a Mediterranean climate: warm winters and very dry and hot summers; there is a lot of sun and very little rain, but when it rains it is often in the form of sudden downpours occurring mostly during the winter. The dominant winds that sweep the region are the “tramontane”, a cold and dry wind that chases the clouds away, and the “marin”, a humid wind that attracts the clouds.

These particularly favourable weather conditions are good for optimal maturation, but concern for the balance of the wines trumps the quest for concentration. They are also good for the development of sustainable wine-making. The Chaudière brothers are attentive to the fact that the Paradou vines should be treated with the most effective means by reducing to a strict minimum the use of synthetically produced entrants and by choosing to use organic amendments and mechanical weeding.

Des terroirs de fraîcheur

Les vignobles du Paradou sont tous situés légèrement en altitude et sur des sols plutôt pauvres afin d’obtenir la meilleure fraîcheur et la meilleure buvabilité possibles, en évitant généralement les orientations plein sud. Pour le Viognier, le vignoble est situé au Nord-Est de Montpellier, entre Nîmes et Uzès, au pied du Massif des Cévennes, sur des sols argilo-calcaires assez pauvres (essentiellement des roches du Jurassique plissées) à une altitude moyenne de 150 à 200 m et qui apportent une légère minéralité dans les vins.

Pour le Grenache, l’essentiel du vignoble est en revanche situé beaucoup plus à l’ouest, au nord de Narbonne, dans le Minervois, à une altitude moyenne de 250 m, sur des terroirs à dominante argilo-calcaires plus riches (terrasses caillouteuses déposés par les rivières de la région lors des grandes crues fluviatiles de l’ère quaternaire) produisant des vins plus charpentés mais très équilibrés.

Climat Méditerranéen et agriculture durable

Les parcelles de vignes de Paradou bénéficient d’un ensoleillement exceptionnel propre au climat méditerranéen qui fait l’unité de la région Languedoc : des hivers doux et des étés très chauds et secs, avec un très grand ensoleillement et des précipitations rares et souvent brutales, plutôt concentrées sur la période hivernale. Les vents dominants sont la tramontane, vent sec et froid qui chasse les nuages, et le marin, vent humide qui au contraire amène les nuages.

Ces conditions climatiques particulièrement propices permettent des maturités optimales mais le souci de l’équilibre des vins l’emporte sur la recherche de la concentration. Elles favorisent aussi le développement d’une viticulture durable. Les frères Chaudière sont attentifs à ce que les vignes du Paradou soient menées avec des pratiques les plus raisonnées en réduisant au minimum l’utilisation d’intrants de synthèse et en privilégiant les amendements organiques et le désherbage mécanique.